HomeRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Saxon - Call To Arms Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Witchfinder
Metal is Forever


Number of posts : 5773
Age : 48

PostSubject: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:26 pm

Review of the new Saxon album: http://themetalblogofmetal.blogspot.com/2011/07/boys-of-79.html

Needless to say, I likes it! headbanger
Back to top Go down
http://themetalblogofmetal.blogspot.com/
ultmetal
Administrator


Number of posts : 19426
Age : 49

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:40 am

Didn't read the review yet, but I need to get this! headbanger

_________________
ULTIMATUM - TOO METAL FOR WIKIPEDIA!
Back to top Go down
Witchfinder
Metal is Forever


Number of posts : 5773
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:31 pm

ultmetal wrote:
Didn't read the review yet, but I need to get this! headbanger

It's a good one Ult. Quite hooky with a nice variety of tempos and heaviness. It's probably my favorite Saxon since Killing Ground which I absolutely loved. I didn't mention in the review but Don Airey is on keys for one of the tracks and two of the songs will appear on a movie soundtrack. The length is also perfect for a vinyl issue so let's hope that makes it over to the US too.
Back to top Go down
http://themetalblogofmetal.blogspot.com/
thejokeriv
Metal is my Life
Metal is my Life


Number of posts : 12786
Age : 47

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:06 pm

Great album!!!!!
Back to top Go down
manny
mini boss
mini boss


Number of posts : 19150
Age : 46

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:22 pm

Excellent job, makes me want to run out and by the album
Back to top Go down
mr.electric39
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal


Number of posts : 1817
Age : 49

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:37 pm



I can't wait to get my mitts on this !
Back to top Go down
http://www.whitethronereviews.blogspot.com
Sutekh
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal


Number of posts : 1466
Age : 44

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:08 am

This is the next album on my list... looking to get the one with the bonus disc!
Back to top Go down
Wargod
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood


Number of posts : 4178
Age : 57

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Fri Aug 12, 2011 8:33 pm

I have the Euro version with the bonus disc and also on vynal and on vynal it sounds so good. This one reminds me of "Unleash The Beast" in parts but overall it's their best in 15 years.

Wargod52
Back to top Go down
metalken
Metal master
Metal master


Number of posts : 668
Age : 51

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:49 pm

Just picked mine up while going to the city the other day. headbanger Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Got the version which had the bonus live stuff from 1980, which I have heard before but not owned myself.
Back to top Go down
Sutekh
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal


Number of posts : 1466
Age : 44

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Thu Oct 13, 2011 3:13 am

I think this is their strongest effort in a very long time. Most Saxon albums tends to have some filler, but this is a very solid listen which hoilds your attention throughout. I might just need to spin it again Razz
Back to top Go down
Andy
Metal graduate
Metal graduate


Number of posts : 328
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:09 pm

Album of the year. This is the culmination of the last decade of cranking out solid releases. It's a grower for sure. The first spin, it's great, and it only gets better each listen. They basically recreated Denim and Leather here.

Easily their best album since their renaissance in the mid 90's.
Back to top Go down
http://www.facebook.com/Andy618
brokentulsa
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal


Number of posts : 1281
Age : 50

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Wed Nov 30, 2011 1:39 am

I love this album!
Back to top Go down
nevermore
Metal is my Life
Metal is my Life


Number of posts : 12362
Age : 47

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:18 pm

Great review!!!
Back to top Go down
Glower
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal


Number of posts : 1336
Age : 52

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:10 pm



Bought the CD and just listened to it -
doing 70 mph on a friday afternoon -
My first impression - without a doubt -
is the desperation within the songs -
that,  live now - damn the torpedoes - vibe -
and that....it could bomb...'but we know it rocks' -
will the audience buy it - like it - see em live - etc -
I have not bought a Saxon release in ten years or so -
and know they're good - seen them on the 'Innocence' tour -
AC DC or KISS and other longevity bands don't do that -
play with that desperation and ballsy bravado -
Back to top Go down
the sentinel
Metal is Forever


Number of posts : 6841
Age : 42

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:55 pm

Great album and nice review, WF. I am somewhat ashamed to admit that I din't get into these guys until 2006. As a life long hard rock and heavy metal fan I don't know why it took so long, but I now have everything they have put out and I freakin' love them! They are one of only 2 bands that I love every album. Of course, I had the benefit of listening now and I understand how others who had been fans since '79 might have felt in the mid to late '80's when Saxon went in a more commercial direction.
Back to top Go down
Witchfinder
Metal is Forever


Number of posts : 5773
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:28 pm

the sentinel wrote:
Great album and nice review, WF. I am somewhat ashamed to admit that I din't get into these guys until 2006. As a life long hard rock and heavy metal fan I don't know why it took so long, but I now have everything they have put out and I freakin' love them! They are one of only 2 bands that I love every album. Of course, I had the benefit of listening now and I understand how others who had been fans since '79 might have felt in the mid to late '80's when Saxon went in a more commercial direction.

Better late than never with Saxon! They are a great band. In my mind, they are one of the few 80s bands that navigated the difficult 90s very well and, as a result, emerged as one of the elder statesmen of the genre. Two others that come to mind are Overkill and Testament.
Back to top Go down
http://themetalblogofmetal.blogspot.com/
candlemass
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal


Number of posts : 1822
Age : 53

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:29 pm

Sutekh wrote:
Most Saxon albums tends to have some filler...

Way back when, yes, but not since "Unleash the Beast", they've been on quite a roll! headbanger
Back to top Go down
http://www.myspace.com/fragilegothband
Glower
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal


Number of posts : 1336
Age : 52

PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   Tue Dec 27, 2016 5:46 pm

Revisited this post. You do write in a tough manner.
That first paragraph brought it all back to me....
What a crazy crossroads it was. Metal fell out of favor overnight.
I remember that post of the small Saxon concert. So cool.
Also, my favorite release by them was ' innocence '
You can't go wrong with Saxon...Biff is a great story-teller......
.......and visionary, in some regards.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Saxon - Call To Arms Review   

Back to top Go down
 
Saxon - Call To Arms Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Now Generation v Saxon:Birmingham:1987
» New REINXEED review at Angelic Warlord
» Mehida - "Blood & Water" review
» Rolling Stone Magazine "Funhouse" review
» March 1973 Creem "Raw Power" review

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Heart Of Metal :: Music Forums :: The Hurting Words-
Jump to: