HomeRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Other good album review sites?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Hadley
Metal master
Metal master


Number of posts : 679
Age : 37

PostSubject: Other good album review sites?   Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:05 pm

Besides NLTM, what are some other good sites with album reviews? Im looking for reviews of both new AND older stuff. I do know about Glory Daze Music which is a good site for melodic rock reviews, any other sites in the same vein?
Back to top Go down
Orion Crystal Ice
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 4201
Age : 31

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:39 pm

www.rateyourmusic.com has almost everything there ever was and there are some cool writeups there which aren't anywhere else. Metal used to be the black sheep as it is fairly "hipster" populated, but that has changed a lot and you can still find a lot of good info and reviews on some very obscure stuff.
Back to top Go down
Tur-Thalion
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
avatar

Number of posts : 350
Age : 33

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:21 pm

For all things prog, I love http://www.progarchives.com
Back to top Go down
tohostudios
King Of Kaiju
avatar

Number of posts : 24857
Age : 56

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:59 pm

I generally trust sleazeroxx site for hard rock, sleaze and metal reviews.

http://www.sleazeroxx.com/

_________________
"There are two means of refuge from the misery of life - music and cats."
- Albert Schweitzer
Back to top Go down
GUEST
R.I.P.
R.I.P.


Number of posts : 22086

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:51 pm

I really don't read music reviews any longer, I'm so picky it's better if I just sample things myself and make up my own mind. Razz 
Back to top Go down
mc666
Master Sailboat
avatar

Number of posts : 9002
Age : 38

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Thu Dec 05, 2013 2:04 am

S.D. wrote:
I really don't read music reviews any longer, I'm so picky it's better if I just sample things myself and make up my own mind.  Razz 
This is me too. I read some reviews from people that I know, but they have no influence over me at all.

_________________
Back to top Go down
http://www.last.fm/user/mc666
journeyman
Metal master
Metal master
avatar

Number of posts : 883
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:17 am

I'm interested in review sites and what others think about an album. I read reviews on stuff I've already bought, so for me, it's not for advice, but rather their take on it. The thing I've found is that it's rare to find good reviews. Many times the reviews I've read are the same review reposted (re-worded) by several folks. That is boring and a waste of time. For me reviews are the virtual way of going into the record store and talking to the folks there hanging out about this album or that album. Damn, those were the days. Now, it seems that someone posts a review and that becomes the voice and authority and everyone else just falls in line with it. I'm always on the lookout for those that actually have opinions and not just crowd followers.
Back to top Go down
MetalGuy71
Bukkake Tsunami
avatar

Number of posts : 23519
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Thu Dec 05, 2013 10:11 am

I like to visit this one from time to time...

http://www.roughedge.com/cdreviews/

It used to be better, more comprehensive, but for whatever reason the quality of reviews have gone downhill over the last year or so. The archived stuff isn't bad though.

_________________
I used to be with it, but then they changed what "it" was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's it seems weird and scary to me, and it'll happen to you, too.
Back to top Go down
chewie
Metal is Forever
avatar

Number of posts : 5012
Age : 48

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Thu Dec 05, 2013 11:26 am

Here's a couple of good prog and classic rock sites. He hasn't written in long time, but the archives are really good and he does not hold back. He also doesn't review anything past 1980. Its one of the places I found when I was getting deeper into 1970s Prog.


http://www.vintageprog.com/

http://www.vintageprog.com/classic70srock/index.htm

His attitude is: "If it isn't 70s music, its crap"
Back to top Go down
Lari
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 3064
Age : 37

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Sat Dec 07, 2013 7:54 am

Not for discovering new bands, but it's still impressive because there's whole back catalogues and it's funny:

http://web.archive.org/web/20091026170825/http://www.capnmusic.org/

Unfortunately the website is down (obviously, since I had to link to the Wayback Machine), and no more updates. But the few that are there, are great.
Back to top Go down
jstate
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 3361
Age : 43

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:44 am

I actually like to read the stuff on Metal Archives. Not that it sways me either way, I just find a lot of them to be fun reading. Even better when it conflicts with my own opinion. I also like the scatter-shot quality one finds on there. Made all the better that reviews are submitted and I assume read/approved for posting.

The only reviewer that ever made me buy stuff was the guy who used to do them for a free local weekly Roxx back in the 80's. He would give guitar ratings. Anything higher than four guitars was a must buy. Never let me down once. Ah, the pre-internet days.
Back to top Go down
GrandNational
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 3774
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Mon Dec 09, 2013 10:49 pm

One I used to frequent back in the days: http://www.bnrmetal.com/v3/home/main
Back to top Go down
Lari
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 3064
Age : 37

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Mon Dec 16, 2013 7:51 pm

I like websites with full discographies, with reviews written by the same person. That's the only way you can get A perspective.

You don't necessarily agree with the taste in music, but you get to know what that person likes and dislikes and can place yourself somewhere there and then you already know when he says "it had enough bagpipe, but not enough guitar solos, but too much layered vocals and it wasn't brutal enough.", if it's what you were looking for.

Bonus points for the reviews being funny.
Back to top Go down
Citanul
Metal master
Metal master
avatar

Number of posts : 627
Age : 38

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Tue Dec 17, 2013 2:22 am

It's not as active as it used to be, but Satan Stole My Teddybear is another one worth checking out.

http://www.ssmt-reviews.com/
Back to top Go down
MetallicSeminarian
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
avatar

Number of posts : 1578
Age : 29

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Fri Dec 20, 2013 2:08 pm

I sometimes find it interesting to read metal reviews on allmusic, just because I often do not agree with them.
Back to top Go down
Lari
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 3064
Age : 37

PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:45 pm

A funny one I found:

http://www.markprindle.com/judas.htm
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Other good album review sites?   

Back to top Go down
 
Other good album review sites?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» ElectricBloomWebzine
» Letter 7 - Follow the Light
» Worship album recommendation
» What is your favorite Stooges album?
» Vocaloid Album & Comiket released Review

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Heart Of Metal :: Music Forums :: Let The Music Do The Talking-
Jump to: