HomeRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Sword Of The Heretic
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
avatar

Number of posts : 427
Age : 40

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:54 pm

When MTV began playing Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Blind Melon on Headbangers' Ball
Back to top Go down
Lari
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 3414
Age : 37

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:56 pm

Sword Of The Heretic wrote:
When MTV began playing Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Blind Melon on Headbangers' Ball

This is a good one, actually.

In a matter of years (months?), MTV went from being the biggest promoter of the movement, into openly disrespecting it.
Back to top Go down
brokentulsa
Heart of Metal
Heart of Metal
avatar

Number of posts : 1415
Age : 51

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:30 am

Quote :
When MTV began playing Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Blind Melon on Headbangers' Ball

And if that wasn't bad enough a couple of years later they tried to convince us all that Korn and Limp Biscuit were metal Shocked
Back to top Go down
Thrasher73
Much Cooler than the other 72
avatar

Number of posts : 7916
Age : 44

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:08 am

Or when MTV quit playing music altogether.
Back to top Go down
Boris2008
Metal is Forever
avatar

Number of posts : 6571
Age : 46

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:16 pm

For me personally it was Cliff's death. I was 16 and had only just seen him play live a week before and Metallica were pretty much my world at that point. The other two that I think were tragic were the deaths of Bon Scott & Randy Rhodes as both of them, like Cliff had worked their asses off and made it big only for it to get cut short so soon.

Back to top Go down
manny
mini boss
mini boss
avatar

Number of posts : 19533
Age : 47

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:23 pm

To me it was Dimebag's murder. I am not biggest fan of Pantera but his death was just so random and unnecessary, ultimately meaningless, like most murders are.
Back to top Go down
Boris2008
Metal is Forever
avatar

Number of posts : 6571
Age : 46

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:24 pm

Oh and on another completely different track was Monsters of Rock '88 when two fans were crushed to death during Guns N Roses set, not only because two kids lost their lives but also because it signalled the end of the age of innocence for festivals and now they are (sensibly, but much less fun) health & safety dominated affairs.
Back to top Go down
James B.
Scurvy Skalliwag
avatar

Number of posts : 9680
Age : 52

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:45 pm

Doro Pesch kicking Warlock to the curb by going solo and hooking up with Simmons.

By the way, getting Simmons to produce an album was like winning best new artist at The Grammy Awards...instant death to your music career.

I am not going to bring death into it, life is too precious to focus on that.

_________________
Back to top Go down
metalinmyveins
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 2874
Age : 46

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:54 pm

James B. wrote:
Doro Pesch kicking Warlock to the curb by going solo and hooking up with Simmons.

By the way, getting Simmons to produce an album was like winning best new artist at The Grammy Awards...instant death to your music career.

I am not going to bring death into it, life is too precious to focus on that.

Though, obviously Rhodes death meant a lot to you. I remember you stating on here once, where you were positioned for his funeral. I think you had a birds eye view? I also enjoyed your thoughts way back on these boards, when you talked about when you were a youngster playing in a band and how Randy approached you from just outside the club (that you had played in earlier) but had to hang outside later, due to age restrictions...
Back to top Go down
Addy
Metal is in my blood
Metal is in my blood
avatar

Number of posts : 4036
Age : 43

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:55 am

The Day Metallica formed...... just kidding sorta

seriously though

as far as "Metal" goes I dont have one but for Rock itself for me the top 3 are (in this order) 1) David Bowie's passing 2) Kurt Cobain's suicide/murder (depending on which view you hold) and 3) Scott Weiland's OD though for Metal if I had to pick one for me it would be when Deliverance ended originally
Back to top Go down
http://rockconnection.rocksolyd.com
Required Fields
Metal is my Life
Metal is my Life
avatar

Number of posts : 21441
Age : 32

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:54 am

BearOnUnicycle wrote:
Chris Oliva dies in a car crash. Vicious Rumors record the song Thunder and Rain as a tribute to him. Year later Carl Albert dies in a car accident.

Actually, it was the following year.
Back to top Go down
http://www.myspace.com/colinshanahan
anthrax_fan
Metal novice
Metal novice
avatar

Number of posts : 26
Age : 42

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:02 am

Dio´s """death""" . I typed """death""" because everybody knows that "God" doesn´t die ... Wink
Back to top Go down
moonspell67
Metal graduate
Metal graduate
avatar

Number of posts : 317
Age : 44

PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:29 pm

going snowblind sucked.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?   

Back to top Go down
 
In your opinion - what is the saddest event in metal history?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
-
» [DONE] Pre-event CLAS:H @Skenoo Hall, Gandaria City Mall
» Petra to Perform at “We Will Stand” Event
» Conscious Dysphoria-ask for opinion
» Mike Mangini
» [Japan Festival - BUNKASAI] SEN YUUREI NO MATSURI (senyuum) on July 2011

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Heart Of Metal :: Music Forums :: Heart Of Metal-
Jump to: